Why So Serious?

Standard

Okay, so today my inner nerd is hurting a little bit, & here’s why.
PokemonGo released this past week & my newsfeed is flooded with posts about it. I downloaded it on day one & have played daily since then. It’s fun, & as a girl who was obsessed with Pokemon back in the day, I am lost in a sense of childish nostalgia. With all the hatred, political mess, & general insanity in the world right now, I welcomed this new community of nerds as a safe place where people from all walks of life are coming together. People of all ages, gender, races, political parties, & sexual orientation are chatting, sharing tips, creating fun content, & GETTING ALONG! Our nation is in turmoil & for a brief moment we all found a common ground. We found something fun, something playful, something nostalgic, something happy! This world needs more happy.
So to all the people complaining that PokemonGo is pointless, stupid, “nerdy”(in a negative connotation), or just for jobless basement dwellers… I say this…
Why so serious?
Why can’t you leave it alone? Why do you have to post constantly about how Pokemon is taking over your newsfeed & how these nerds need to get a job or a real life. Do you know how bad this makes you look? In a world filled with hate, you just spew out more, & towards a group of people who more than likely have been a victim of your nasty mean girl brand of hatred before. You sat at the special table in high school & passed down judgement on anyone who was different. High school is over. The nerd still like their nerd stuff, & you still hate them for it. You are still a bully, so stop it. You are not better than them because you don’t play a video game. We are no better than you because we do. We are all people just looking for one happy moment in this cruel world. Leave it alone. If you need something to be angry about, look around. Racism, sexism, gender inequality, the presidential race are all worth being angry over. A video is not. People all over the place are finding happiness, so kindly redirect yourself to something that matters. We don’t need your approval, but we also don’t need your attitude.

4 thoughts on “Why So Serious?

  1. LOVE. THIS. POST!! The people who are hating on Pokemon Go are frustrating me so much. I’m tired of my newsfeed being filled with political crap, but people enjoy what they enjoy. In Japan now and currently and it’s not live here yet (WTF)..I will be playing so much when I get back to the US in August.

    If they add a trade / friend feature we will totes have to be buddies!

    • I’m so down for that! It’s supposed to be coming. Fingers crossed.
      I’m so bored with all the hate daily. So excited to see people uniting over something. It should be praised not put down.

      • Right? I saw this post on reddit from a father and he said something along the lines of “I watched my kids grow up playing pokemon and wanting to be pokemon trainers and now they can do it -I’m so happy for you. As long as you still pay your bills / wash your clothes, keep enjoying!”

Leave a comment